The Police- Ghost in the Machine- Stewart Copeland, Andy Summers

By the time October 1981 ‘s fourth Police album, Ghost in the Machine, was dispatched, the exposed roots and influences shown by the London-based trio founded by Yankee drummer Stewart Copeland revealed the infectious pop of “Every Little Thing She Does is Magic” and “Spirits in the Material World”, as well as the brooding “Secret Journey”. Turned out The Police, which had emerged from the dying embers of the London Punk Rock scene , were more Miles and Mingus than Johnny Rotten.

The preceding album by The Police only a year earlier, Zenyatta Mondatta, had been the keystone for these cops of rock, finally unlocking a jailbreak of three Top Twenty hits and selling over a million copies for the first time. With Ghost in the Machine they moved The Police headquarters to the Caribbean island of Montserrat to record a more varied group of song arrangements. The Police line-up included more synthesized keyboards and saxophones on “Spirits in the Material World”,”Hungry for You”,”Omega Man”, the mystical moody “Secret Journey”,”Invisible Sun”, and the huge worldwide hit “Everything She Does is Magic”.

The grand jury court of public opinion was virtually unanimous in the affirmative, resulting in Ghost in the Machine topping the UK sales chart, #2 on Billboard  album chart, over three million copies sold in America alone, and Rolling Stone  magazine ranking it at #322 on their Top 500 Albums of All Time list. Police commissioner Stewart Copeland and six-string sharpshooter Andy Summers are your personal Ghost…busters in this classic rock interview. –Redbeard